Skip to content

Happiness

February 27, 2012

Sometimes the Gods give you things you never expected. Just last month, I was engaged to a man I loved but hated, I was in an emotionally abusive relationship, and I was not happy but I didn’t realize it. Now I’m with a man whom I love dearly, who makes me happy, and who is willing to take care of me and smile at my flaws instead of trying to change me (he’s damn good in bed too.)

It strikes me weird how fast things have changed. Over the course of a weekend, I have lost a fiancé, kicked him out, gained a new boyfriend, and had him move in. Now I know what everyone is thinking. That I moved too fast and this is going to blow up in my face. Believe me, I felt the same way but as each day goes on, it becomes more apparent that this is what was supposed to happen.

The oddest thing that has happened was the wedding rings. I had bought many things for mine and my ex’s wedding, including a pair of wedding rings. I ordered the pair but wasn’t sure what size ring my ex wore so I just guessed. It turned out to be way too big for him so I had planned to send it back and get a smaller size but never got around to it.

Yesterday, while I and the new man were cleaning, we came across the rings and I read the return policy. I realized I had waited too long to return them. I showed them to J.D. (who is the new man) and he instantly fell in love with them saying they were how he had always wanted wedding bands to be. Out of curiosity, he tried the one that I had bought for my ex on and it fit him absolutely perfectly. We were both floored. What are the odds that I would get the size that fit him? So I gave J.D. that ring and I wear mine for it seems like a sign that these were meant for me and J.D.

You may think I am being silly and maybe I am but I know that I am the happiest I have ever been. I know that I am slowly becoming comfortable with who I am and not being ashamed anymore. So you may call me silly or even foolish but I am happy and really that is all that matters.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 11:07 pm

    yay for happiness! Life should be joyful don’t you think? Especially as a result of making (what sounds like) some hard choices. Anyway good for you and I am so happy to hear of it.

Leave a Reply

